Mermaiding: Taking the Dive

It is time to introduce you all to another one of my personas or should I say Mersona. Back at the end of 2012 I was looking around online for new costuming inspirations for something new to add to my collect when I stumbled upon the most stunning thing I had ever seen. Professional Mermaiding. I am sure some of you may of heard of it because of all the publicity Eric gets as The Mertailor with his TLC spotlight, numerous online interviews ect.. But that cuttlefish is not who I am refering too, I will not go in-depth as to my negative opinion of Mertailor, but I will say that this fish does not consider him worth her time to type about. No, I am refering to Mermaid Raven, owner of Merbella Studios LLC. To make a long story short I knew that this was something I wanted to do.

For several years I did nothing but lurk on the online forum for the community (MerNetwork.com). But last fall for my birthday my wonderful boyfriend gifted me a mahina merfin that I have since made a tail skin for. Unfortunately I do not have pictures of that one currently, however I also have a second fin for work use. Now I am in the process of making this costume so please be gentle in your critism, but this is my current ensemble for my company and I thought I might like to share it with all of you…

Ariel2

A behind the Scenes shot to see how colors read on Camera in preparation for an event.

One thought on “Mermaiding: Taking the Dive

Leave a Reply

